The Castle of Gears: Chapter 002

Solving crimes are like drugs to me, fun, enjoyable. The thrill of chasing someone, to run into questions and find the answers to them.

Although I do agree, like those with common sense, that it’s probably better off seen as unpleasant.

But because of that, I couldn’t have imagined it would hit close to home. Certainly not in front of Grandpa von Hald’s prized creation, the clock tower of Kamillia Castle; had he still been alive, Grandpa would come flying this way on a hurricane.

The clock tower of Kamillia Castle is famous all over Moorwalk, but not with the nicest reasons. At times, there were sightings of orbs of light dancing around it. Rumors were that the Lorrens were wizards, or that the Castle and clock tower itself were alive. A person dying on its grounds would catch sooner be gossip in the city.

Out of Emily’s hand, I found a piece of paper with these words written out,

To the household of the Lorrens,

I am disgusted by the way you must want me off the house so badly! In return, I have hidden the ring and you will never find it, not even the one they call the Horologii Gremlin. I hope misfortune shall fall on you accursed people!

Emily

At first glance, it looks like a suicide. But could she really have chosen this? Maybe, since her marriage to Lindon wasn’t out of love. Uncle Marcel was only polite to her. From an outsider’s point of view, they weren’t like family.

“Master, I’ve brought the things you asked for!” Isaiah called, and I turned to see that he certainly brought a blanket and two brooms. “What will we do with these?”

“It’s about to rain,” I replied. “I wanted to create a stretcher to carry her to shelter. We will bring Lady Emily into the Helios and leave her there until the police arrives.”

“The airship? Why? Shouldn’t we call the police first?”

“The rain looks as though it will be a storm, so they will no doubt delay it in the end. As for why the airship, I get the feeling that no one may want her body in the house.”

When we had done exactly that, the sky had begun to pour into a thin drizzle. Isaiah and I crossed the courtyard and reached the door into the Castle before barring the doors. Just in time to hear Lindon’s voice snap, “It’s going to take a long time to hail the police up here and wait until they reach us! Just what happened to that woman?”

“Lindon, sit and calm down!” Uncle Marcel ordered,  but his ragged voice didn’t let him speak clearly. “Ethaon, my boy! What shall we do?” His wrinkles seemed to sag in despair.

A meeting seemed to have commenced in the parlor while I had been gone. Lindon had seated himself in his favorite red chair, with Amelia standing beside him with a pale face. Uncle Marcel was in the sofa with his cane in hand, the doctor in another chair. On the coffee table in the middle of the room, there was a steaming pot of tea and teacups. I glanced at the mantelpiece above the hearth where a fire blazed; there were a few photographs here as well, of a group that Uncle Marcel and Grandpa von Hald used be part of in their prime.

“Well?” Lindon asked curtly, bringing my attention back to this room.

“A lot of things will move and be revealed,” I said. “On the poor Lady, I found that her neck broke. She may have fallen from the clock tower. It’s possible to be a suicide, too. Here is a letter that she wrote.” I handed her handwritten letter to him.

When he had read it, he slammed it onto the coffee table. “And she hid the damned ring? Not just suicide, but also the ring is gone?”

“Could it be a killer?” asked Amelia suddenly, and turned all eyes onto her in surprise. “I – just thought that it may be that because of Lady Emily’s position.”

“That may be true,” said Lindon, sitting up. “She’s popular in the city and attends a lot of parties and also invites a lot of friends over to this place from time to time-“

“No, Lindon! I wish not to know!” Uncle Marcel suddenly snapped, and even I winced at his voice.

“Father, what are you-” gasped Lindon, but he was cut off again.

“I say no! If the killer is one of the people in this room, I wish not to know. If it was an outside person, that would be better. But I do not want to know who it was. Your mother died by murder as well, and by the most unlikely person I ever imagined to be the killer. This is my answer. I will return to my room now, and I would like to be alone, Dr. Jennings.” Uncle Marcel began to wheeze as he hobbled to his feet and he seemed smaller than he did earlier. Dr. Jennings seemed reluctant to let him go, but remained in his seat.

“Even so, I’m not on that side,” Lindon grunted. “Nevertheless, find out how she died, whether it’s suicide or murder, Ethaon.”

“Does that mean you’ll tell me now who Miss Amelia is?” I asked, and smiled. “You will, won’t you? I’ll need it if I am to find out the answer to Lady Emily’s death.”

“Master, your smile is evil,” Isaiah remarked quietly as Lindon’s eyes flared.

“Amelia has nothing to do with this,” he said curtly.

“I thought you would say that,” I chuckled. “So it will be fine if I ask the servants since when you brought her here, and whatever gossip they might have spread amongst themselves, won’t it? Dr. Jennings, do you have experience with examining dead bodies?”

“O-only a little,” Dr. Jennings stuttered.

“If possible, please do so. Isaiah, accompany him, will you?”

When Dr. Jennings and Isaiah had gone, Amelia suddenly spoke: “I beg your pardon, but…what is this they call the Horologii Gremlin?” She frowned at me. “I heard rumors of this name and the importance of the titles of the Gremlins and their fame, but – what exactly is it?”

I looked at her blankly. “You never asked Lindon?”

Amelia turned red as Lindon immediately countered me with, “The upper-ranked Gremlins are not supposed to have their true names revealed, and I was about to ask you about it. So it’s not like I ever told her that you are the Horologii Gremlin.”

“What?” Amelia gasped. “Mr. Haldeir is Moorwalk’s Horologii Gremlin?”

“Allow me to explain, miss,” offered Wilder, and we all jolted when we realized that he was still in this room. Though the fact that he had been standing beside an indoor orange tree until his presence was erased didn’t reassure us, I chuckled. He dismissed that with ease as he continued on, “Since you are aware of the title of Gremlins, tell me what you know.”

“Um – in Pallin, those titles are given to people who are gifted in a specific area of study,” Amelia said slowly. “The title is at the same rank as a Knight or a Dame.”

“That’s partly true, though their official name is Clauditis Gremlin, and of all those with this title, there are five in particular who stand out.  Our Ethaon here contributes to helping the Democracy capture dangerous villains and takes part in espionage missions. In return, those five receive unlimited assistance from the Democracy.”

“Is that even contributing?” Amelia muttered.

“Let’s just say, I earned my Gremlin title by being something similar to a mind reader,” I said with a smile. “For the record, may I have your statements for what you were doing after dinner yesterday?”

“Why?” asked Lindon.

“Natural procedures if you want me to see if she died because of someone. That includes you, so just do me that as a favor.”

Lindon glared at me, but I didn’t budge. He relented in the end, “I was in my room the whole time, doing some cleaning. I had a lot of things I didn’t think I collected over the last few years, so when I found some things, I thought I’d throw them out.”He glanced at Amelia, and she seemed to seem something before she spoke.

He glanced at Amelia, and she seemed to seem something before she spoke. “Um…I was in my room the whole night as well. I took some pictures of the garden and darkened the room to form the images. I have the photographs, if you would like to see.”

“I guess that’s fine,” I said.

Leave a Reply

